A Guide to Independence Day

4th of July is my favorite holiday of the year – it falls in the summertime (my favorite season), you spend all day outdoors, and you’re surrounded by friends and family (oh, and you have work off!). Last night I started preparing for the holiday in advance and made mini 4th of July themed red, white, and blue cupcakes courtesy of one of my favorite recipe books from The Hummingbird Bakery.

IMG_3016Nothing tastes better than cake batter 🙂

IMG_3018The finished product – they were all out of holiday sprinkles at the store, sadly.

I used the vanilla cupcake & vanilla frosting recipes found in their first cookbook, here. When I was studying abroad in college, I was lucky enough to randomly stumble upon one of their brick and mortar shops and try a genuine Hummingbird Cupcake – so good! They even package it in a little Chinese takeout to-go box with their logo on the top.

Not sure what to wear/bake/cook/drink for the holiday? No worries, I’ve got you covered with a guide below! Also, feel free to check out my 4th of July Pinterest board!

1.) Love this DIY inspired outfit, plus what’s more American than a Coca-Cola shirt?!

2.) Such a great idea to have mini finger food available if you’re hosting a BBQ (these fries would go perfect with the mini sliders)

3.) Printable patriotic beer labels – easy DIY project.

4.) These American flag mason jars are so cute!

5.) Easy Sparkler Cake – love how easy it is to use yogurt-dipped pretzels on edges as decoration.

6.) This is the cutest backyard bar cart I’ve ever seen.

Hope you all have a great, long 4th of July Weekend and I’ll see you again next week!

 

Leave a Reply

