Weekend Wonders

This past weekend my parents were in town visiting and we enjoyed a packed full three days of explorations and cannolis. Lexington itself is home to some top-notch restaurants, such as my go-to, Vine Brook Tavern. But it’s also home to some of America’s first historical sites, some of them just around the corner from my apartment. I love stumbling upon monuments I remember learning about in my high school American History class, like Paul Revere’s capture site.

Concord is the next town over and is home to Henry David Thoreau’s famous cabin on Walden Pond. We were able to spend an afternoon wandering through the quaint downtown area and seeing some of the attractions for ourselves. They have some great shopping for such a tiny town – my favorite being a nautical/beach store, Jack + Toba (makes me feel like I’m back home on a Florida beach!). We also ate dinner at a delicious farm to table restaurant called 80 Thoreau. My favorite course was dessert, as per usual, which was a lemon soufflé with pistachio ice cream.

If it isn’t already obvious, my favorite part of the weekend was exploring new dining options with my parents. We’re lucky enough to have a connection to one of the authentic Italian restaurants in the North End. My dad’s cousin, Ann, owns Dino’s Cafe on the corner of Salem & Prince Street. We were lucky enough to be able to stop by and try some of the delicious food for ourselves. I chose the lobster ravioli and my parents split a mouth-watering veal parmesan sub. The food was beyond anything you could ever imagine, so authentic and flavorful I felt like I was studying abroad in Italy all over again!

image_5

The best veal parmesan sub this side of the Atlantic!

image_4

Fresh lobster ravioli in a cream sauce.

We were lucky enough to catch up with Ann over cappuccinos and gelato in a classic Italian cafe around the corner from Dino’s called, Vittoria Caffe. The best cappuccino I’ve had in a while! It was so wonderful to be able to meet up with family and feel at home in the big city. Ann even has a photo of the Grieff family hanging up in Dino’s and my grandfather is pictured in the back top left corner, how’s that for an authentic family restaurant!

image_3

Of course, we couldn’t leave the North End without heading over to the world famous, Mike’s Pastry shop to get not one, but three cannolis. As the Godfather would say, “leave the gun, take the cannoli”.

image_6

An espresso chocolate chip cannoli – words can’t do it justice!

image_2

You know you’re in the North End when all signs lead to Rome!

All in all, it was a great weekend spent with family exploring the city some more. It’s always great to have some tender love and care!

Leave a Reply

